Blueberry Pecan Crunch Pie

2015_09_03_bruah139
Success.

After being away for 3 weekends in a row, it was time to settle in at home and make something comforting. Pie is always at the top of the comfort list, but what kind? I tend to be indecisive about what flavor to make, especially since I try to limit pie baking to once every 6-8 weeks or so in an attempt to try and not eat a whole pie every week. (Tough and painful choices, I know.)  After much hand-wringing, blueberry ended up at the top of the list, mainly because I couldn’t remember the last time I had baked one.

Since it had been so long since I made a blueberry version, I ended up easily finding a recipe that I hadn’t used before: a pecan crunch pie from a 2001 Food and Wine compilation. The ingredients are straightforward and classic but with some embellishments like a nutty crumble topping (always yum) and toasted pound cake crumbs sprinkled on the par-baked crust.

This recipe is overall a strong one. The blueberry flavor is definitely enhanced with the addition of both lemon and ginger, but there’s nothing overpowering about either piece. The tartness of the blueberries was balanced with the sugar level. The pound cake crumb barrier kept the crust from getting soggy, which I call a huge success in the quality of the final product.

2015_09_03_bruah149
Deep dark fruit drips.

What would I tweak? Two things. First of all, the pie crust recipe calls for a food processor, which in my opinion makes it easy to overmix the crust. I felt that it was competent but slightly tough. Next time I would stick to my own crust recipe without the machine.

The other piece I would tweak is the topping. The pecans are great, but perhaps it would be better to use brown sugar rather than granulated in this part of the recipe.

2015_09_03_bruah186
Tomorrow, pie for breakfast.

Recipe Credit: Food and Wine

Kitchen Mess: 2 out of 4 stars. Depends on how messy you are with rolling out the dough.

Recommended for: A bumper crop of berries, potlucks and picnics, summer or when you’re missing summer

Not Recommended for: Hmm….I would say this could be universally adored unless you have a nut allergy.

Leave a Reply

