Weeknight Dinners – Sesame Cod

Needing a simple weekday dinner recipe, I looked to an old standby: oven-roasted white fish. Cod is pretty much a simple no-frills kind of fish, so I suppose it makes sense that my finished product was about the same.

I went for an Asian-inspired cod recipe, straightforward as can be and requiring next to nothing in prep work. The instructions stated to grate ginger, stir together with sesame oil, and massage on the fish as a marinade before roasting in a 400 degree oven. The garnish was equally as simple, simply a sprinkling of black sesame seeds, scallions, and pickled ginger. So why did it not meet my expectations? Were my expectations too extreme? To be fair, I was looking for a simple recipe to throw together in a half hour, tops.

Cod with Sesame and Ginger, Mirin and Soy Glazed Eggplant, Gingered Green Beans
Cod with Sesame and Ginger, Mirin and Soy Glazed Eggplant, Gingered Green Beans

My biggest mistake in the process was marinating the fish for the shortest amount of time given on the recipe. Instead of letting the ginger and sesame oil penetrate the fish for a bit, I went for the shortest amount of time specified in the recipe- 15 minutes instead longer. Really, if I’m going to be honest with myself here, I probably marinated it for 14 and a half minutes before throwing the whole thing in the oven. This important tidbit of info probably had something to do with the minimal tone of the dish. Still, regardless of my marinating speed issues I felt it was too subtle of a flavor for my tastes.

I paired the fish with an impromptu Japanese-eggplant-in-mirin-and-soy-sauce saute, which I seriously lapped up from my plate. Eggplant season is something I never really cared about, but with all the fun heirloom varieties out and about in the markets, my opinion on the nightshade is quickly changing.

Eggplant Sauteed with Soy Sauce and Mirin
Eggplant Sauteed with Soy Sauce and Mirin

Recipe credit: NY Times

Kitchen Mess: Minimal

Recommended for: Fast dinners, Healthy Meals, Picky eaters

Not recommended for: Special Occasions, dinner parties

Leave a Reply

